A signing & reading from Caroline Leech

richamercandecade
An Afternoon with Richard Aronowitz
June 29, 2017
Mark Ellis Writer in Residence
Mark Ellis – Writer in Residence
September 23, 2017

A signing & reading from Caroline Leech

Wait for Me_final_HiRes_JPG
Map Unavailable

Date/Time
Date(s) - 13/07/2017
6:30 pm - 8:00 pm

Location
Octavo's Book Cafe and Wine Bar

Categories


Caroline Leech returns to Cardiff Bay to present her debut historical novel for young adults, WAIT FOR ME at a reading at Octavo Books on Thursday July 13th at 6.30pm. A former resident of Penarth, Caroline worked with Welsh National Opera through the exciting period when the company moved into its new home at Wales Millennium Centre, and for a number of Cardiff’s other arts organisations. After moving to the USA with her family, Caroline began writing novels and her debut, WAIT FOR ME, was published this year by Harper Teen. Her second novel, IN ANOTHER TIME, follows in spring 2018.

WAIT FOR ME
A breathtaking WW2 romance for fans of Elizabeth Wein’s CODE NAME VERITY and Ruta Sepetys’s BETWEEN SHADES OF GREY.

Can their love survive a war?
It’s 1945, and Lorna Anderson’s life on her father’s farm in Scotland consists of endless chores and rationing, knitting Red Cross scarves, and praying for an Allied victory. So when Paul Vogel, a German prisoner of war, is assigned as the new farmhand, Lorna is appalled. How can she possibly work alongside the enemy when her own brothers are risking their lives for their country?
But as Lorna reluctantly spends time with Paul, she feels herself changing. The more she learns about him—from his time in the war to his life back home in Germany—the more she sees the boy behind the soldier. Soon Lorna is battling her own warring heart. Loving Paul could mean losing her family and the life she’s always known. With tensions rising all around them, Lorna must decide how much she’s willing to sacrifice before the end of the war determines their fate.

Bookings

Bookings are closed for this event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.